Little Christmas Moments

I am getting a typewriter for Christmas! Thanks to the thoughtful boyfriend who knows I’ve wanted one for quite some time. 😀

At some point, I will take it to a typewriter repair shop and have them paint it pink for me, rather than blue. Because I am admittedly a bit obsessed with the color pink. It is a bright, fun, happy color–judge me if you’d like; I don’t care. HaHa!

I also have a slight obsession with Christmas. I’m sure largely due to my many happy memories of Christmas with my family as a kid. I am incredibly fortunate to have had the generally happy childhood that I did. We were by no means rolling in money, but we certainly didn’t live in poverty either. And what was more important than the actual gifts we would get was the overall feeling of Christmas–the decorations, the smell of the pine tree in the living room, the traditions that lived on every year (and still to this day).

My brother and I hiding candy canes and smaller ornaments deep in the branches of the tree, then celebrating when we would find each other’s stashed items. Mom reading us the pop-up “Twas the Night Before Christmas” on Christmas Eve and giving us our one Christmas Eve present which was always new pajamas.

The two of us (once we got older) would stay up, one of us sneaking across the hall into the other’s room, and we would try to spy as Mom wrapped up the final gifts. Then Christmas morning, my brother and I getting up and trying to wake up Mom & Dad at the crack of dawn. They made us wait a little while usually, but we at least got to go dig through our stockings while they roused themselves from bed and made a pot of coffee.

Mom would read the story of Jesus’ birth from the Bible before we could start tearing into our presents, and after we were finished opening everything my brother and I would spend the day playing with new items, calling our cousins and friends to see what they got, and we typically enjoyed a relaxing day at home together. Just watching t.v. and hanging out, sometimes convincing our parents to let us go to our cousins’ or allow them to come over to our house.

I thoroughly love those memories. 🙂 Nothing particularly Earth-shattering would ever happen… I remember some of the gifts specifically but for the most part I just remember all of those little moments.

Leave Thoughts Here

