October Writing Challenge

My friend Mary is doing an October Writing Challenge and I have decided to join in! To at least attempt it; hence the “challenge” aspect. πŸ™‚

Every day of the month there is a word prompt, and you just write whatever comes to mind. No word limits/goals.

I try to use my Brainsparker app as much as possible to give me writing prompts, but I admit that I slack off and will sometimes go two weeks without sitting down to write something new. Yikes! I think it will be nice to have someone else to more or less hold me accountable–that added pressure of someone else knowing what goal you’re working toward and not wanting to be a complete failure. πŸ™‚

Perhaps I will post some excerpts here, if they’re up to snuff.

I’ve never done NaNoWriMo which is coming up… the one year I started to attempt it, I started stressing myself out over it. Sometimes I think I’m allergic to stress because I essentially cringe away from it and avoid it at all costs. So, that was the end of NaNoWriMo for me. Also, I was attempting to finish my book, and I found it too distracting and wasn’t spending any time working on my already established book. Maybe I could try it this year, though. I do need to get the second book going… hmm… !

Do writing challenges work for you?!

2 thoughts on “October Writing Challenge

  1. You could always be a NaNo “Rebel” and work on something you already have. The point is to write 50k words on something new, but a lot of people just add 50k to a novel they’ve already started. That might make it easier if you’re still working on your already established book. Good luck either way. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah I think that’s what I’m going to do! πŸ™‚ I have technically started the follow-up book to the book I already finishes, but haven’t gotten too far with it. Hopefully this will push me along to more progress with it. πŸ˜€

Leave Thoughts Here

