Freelance As A Career?

I have a new website for my freelance editing services! Woo hoo!

I’m sure there are still tweaks to be made and things that I will change in the future, but for now it’s all set and ready to go. I love it.

www.rightwordediting.com

Check it out! Let me know what you think. 🙂

Sometimes I think it would be so great to get my freelance career up & running enough to just do that full-time, but then I hesitate. Probably partially because it sounds terrifying to not have a steady, guaranteed income. I’ve struggled financially so much since turning 18 and being on my own, and that’s WITH steady, guaranteed paychecks! Obviously most of that time I was only working part time due to being in college, and that had a lot to do with the struggle. Being young and a bit oblivious to smart finances also had some effect. HaHa. You live, you learn!

All of that being said, now that I am some version of a successful adult with a salaried position which I do enjoy, thinking about tossing it all away for a freelance career sounds terrifying and probably a bit stupid. It would take me a few years to get enough money saved and enough knowledge to feel comfortable doing that.

It is something I’m keeping in mind, though. When my brother and I were young our mom stayed at home with us. There are obvious benefits to having a stay-at-home parent around, especially in the formidable elementary school years, if you ask me. I loved having Mom home with us. We had fun, and it was a stable, safe environment. As we got older she started working sometimes, but not really consistently until I was a senior in high school.

I would LOVE to be able to stay at home with my kids, particularly when they are young. However, the financial benefits of a two-income family are also worth considering. Also, my sanity. I think that if I didn’t work at all and interact with others in a more professional way, I would lose my mind. Some women are wonderful at being 100% stay-at-home moms without a paycheck and more power to them! They are amazing and the hard work they do on a daily basis is not to be undermined, by any means. Like I said, that was my own mother for most of my childhood. I just know myself well enough to know that I would need to be contributing financially to the household in order to feel satisfied; it’s just who I am, personally. But I also wouldn’t want to be away from my kids for 40+ hours a week!

SO maybe it will be a good move in a few years when motherhood happens for me. 🙂

Leave Thoughts Here

