A Book Addiction Is Not A Bad Thing.

It seems that in the past year or so I’ve been in a reading slump. I’m jumping back on the wagon!

As soon as I learned to read I started devouring books. I pretty much carried a book with me everywhere I went. Then I started to drive and no longer could read in the car… then I went to college and was doing so much reading for school that I did very little reading for pleasure (luckily a lot of my classes were English classes & the required reading was interesting). I never STOPPED reading, by any means. I just wasn’t reading as much as I wanted to anymore. I missed it! I prefer to read a book a week, or even two books a week! Two books a month feels like I’m severely slacking.

In the last year or so I just haven’t found many books that I’m CRAZY about, you know? I’ve read many books that were “meh” or “okay”… so I’m making more of an effort as of late to find books that I AM crazy about. Or that I can at least FINISH. I’m sick of starting a book only to be so bored 25 pages in that I quit reading it.

I went to the library yesterday and found 2 books to read. We’ll see how they are. Also, I signed up for Scribd. It’s a pretty sweet app for book lovers! You pay $9 per month and have access to thousands of books! It’s like Netflix! But for books. πŸ™‚ So far I read The Basic Eight by Daniel Handler, and was not disappointed. But I love Daniel Handler’s writing–Lemony Snicket, anyone? A Series of Unfortunate Events is one of my favorite book series EVER. Ugh! So good. So clever.

Anyway–that’s my little Tuesday rant on books. πŸ™‚ If anyone has suggestions of books I might devour, please comment!

One thought on “A Book Addiction Is Not A Bad Thing.

  1. I felt exactly the same with reading in 2013! It ended up taking me almost half of the year to get through the colossal Game of Thrones series, but now I’m done I’ve started devouring fiction again. Last week I re-read ‘The Kite Runner’ and ‘The Book Theif’. Both amazing if you haven’t read them already!

Leave Thoughts Here

