Freelancing and LLCs

I have decided that it is in my best interests to register an LLC for the purposes of my freelance editing work. As of right now I’m obviously still figuring everything out, and I’m well aware it will take quite some time to establish a clientele base. However, I like to dot all of the i’s and cross all of the t’s whenever possible, so an LLC it is! Because the goal is obviously to, at some point in the relatively near future, get paid to do this. ๐Ÿ™‚

Honestly, I doubt that it’s really necessary to form an LLC for such work, even if I did have regular clientele at this point, but I also know that it doesn’t hurt! I just like organization, and it doesn’t cost much to start one up ($50 here in AZ). Also, I happen to have a close friend who is a CPA and another even closer friend who is an attorney and creates LLCs on the regular. HaHa. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I feel a bit more knowledgeable after talking it over with them. Like I said– it won’t hurt!

Perhaps I am just a bit of a control freak. Sometimes I think it would be nice to “fly by the seat of my pants” more often… but with things like this I will probably always lean toward following the rules and taking extra steps that really aren’t necessary. Ah well!

Also, I’m a big believer in willing things to happen, if you put enough positive energy toward it… what is that? The Law of Attraction? If you want a puppy, buy a leash and the universe will receive your message and send you a stray dog? HaHa–something like that. I don’t know exactly what it’s called, but I could see it being a valid theory. So by setting up an LLC, in anticipation of bigger things to come, the universe will receive my message and send me more work!

That’s one idea, anyway!

ย 

One thought on “Freelancing and LLCs

Leave Thoughts Here

