Focus Cycle

I don’t know about you, but my focus comes and goes. Not every few minutes, but every few months. Since last spring I’ve been very focused with my writing–I completed my book! I mean after 3+ years that felt AMAZING. And it did take a lot of focus.

Then since the beginning of August I’ve kind of slacked off. I allowed myself a break… and I apparently should not have done that. (I also went on a vacation, and that always seems to throw me off. I need set schedules and deadlines to be uber-productive.) So whatever the reason was, I lost my focus. It’s still there in the back of my mind… that little voice yelling at me to DO something productive! To write! Research agents! Work on my query letter! Then instead I work out (although I have to admit I’ve lost focus of that in the last couple of weeks as well)… or catch an episode of “Suits”… or whatever other thing I can occupy myself with.

I really try not to beat myself up over this too much. It happens to the best of us, correct? Everyone falls off the focus wagon every so often. I think we’d be slightly inhuman if we were “on” literally ALL the time. And the people who seem like they’re always focused and never having these little setbacks… well I’m convinced they’re just better at putting on the facade. And they can just be quiet. !

Leave Thoughts Here

