Internship Excitement!

A few weeks ago I applied for an editorial internship with a literary magazine. I saw it via a Twitter connection (I follow & am followed by one of the editors), and I knew I had to at least try. Of course the standard doubts were in my mind… “I won’t be what they’re looking for.” – “I don’t have enough experience.” – “Am I really good enough?” But I sucked it up, wrote what I hoped was a whimsical, charming, yet professional cover letter, double-checked my resume, and sent the e-mail.

Then of course comes the waiting game. I knew they were accepting applications until the 1st so yesterday I thought about it, but still was very convinced that I wouldn’t get it anyway so it didn’t weigh on my mind too much. Then today I get an e-mail from them, and I see the initial, “Thank you so much for applying…” and my heart sank a little. But then shortly thereafter, I saw, “We would love to extend the internship to you.”

AHHHH!!!!! I freaked out a little bit. I’m pretty sure I didn’t stop smiling for about ten minutes.

It’s just so perfect, because being a “responsible adult” (which is really no fun, but sometimes necessary) I have a 9-5 job to pay my bills. I can’t afford to take a part-time job so any internship requiring my physical presence for an allotted number of hours per week is simply out of the question. So this is something I can do remotely, online, from home, on my hours! And it’s for an editorial internship… precisely what I was looking for.

I guess Twitter hasn’t been a complete waste of my time after all. 🙂

I am so so SO excited!!! And I don’t even care that I probably sound like an overly caffeinated high school girl. One year of experience and being mentored is a completely legitimate reason to jump around my room smiling and generally freaking out. I’m sure in twenty years I’ll look back and find my level of excitement quite amusing… but then again, I hope not. I hope I never forget what it feels like to just be starting out, and to get those smalls steps in the desired direction. I hope I never lose that hunger.

Check out the online children’s literary magazine I’m now an intern for… ! (Guys, did I tell you I have an internship? HaHa!) >> Underneath the Juniper Tree. <<

It’s creative, fun, and generally kickass!

Leave Thoughts Here

