Hip-Hop is My Muse

What brings you inspiration for your writing?

The world around us in general is always inspiration… these ideas, characters, scenes all come from something that we see in the real world. But further than that… what speaks to your soul and just gives you that “I have to write right NOW” feeling?

For me it seems to be hip-hop music. There are other things (reading, for example) that often put me in the writing mood, or motivate me. But when I listen to my favorite hip-hop it’s a different feeling. I feel it in my chest. An overwhelming sense of peace, contentment, and desire.

By hip-hop I mean… J. Cole, Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Grieves, Chiddy Bang, Kendrick Lamar, Childish Gambino, Jay-Z, Blu & Exile, Atmosphere, Kid Cudi, Lupe Fiasco… etc. (That list was in no particular order.) When I listen to them I feel words coming to my fingertips just begging to get out. I love it.

Go listen to this: Ten Thousand Hours by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

or: Nature vs Nurture by Grieves

So what does it for you, other writer friends?

Leave Thoughts Here

